A glaring error by a touch judge denied the Dolphins a vital 40/20 at a crucial moment in their defeat against the Broncos on Friday night.
The Broncos emerged victorious with a score of 20-12, thanks in part to the missed call that provided them with a much-needed lift in the 26th minute.
With Michael Maguire’s side trailing 10-6, Dolphins playmaker Isaiya Katoa executed a perfectly placed kick for a 40/20 that appeared destined to surpass Broncos winger Selwyn Cobbo and roll into touch.
Just as the ball appeared to go out, Cobbo made a desperate attempt to drag it back in, allowing the Broncos to reclaim possession through some impressive play from Reece Walsh.
However, replays indicated that Cobbo had stepped on the line while re-entering the field of play with the ball.
Footage showed the sideline official in prime position along the touch line, eyes focused on the play, yet no call was made.

Cobbo clearly had his foot on the line. Nine
In what proved to be a frustrating moment for Dolphins fans, Walsh managed to slip past two defenders in the in-goal area before finding Jesse Arthars, who somehow managed to stay in play.
Just moments later, the Broncos advanced to the opposite end of the field, with Kotoni Staggs crossing for a try in the 29th minute to extend their lead to 16-6.
This controversial decision resulted in a potential 12-point turnaround; the Dolphins should have been on the attack inside the Broncos’ 20-metre zone, but instead found themselves defending as the Broncos escaped two close calls, including the denied 40/20 and a subsequent goal line drop-out.

The Broncos extend their lead to 16-6 shortly after. Nine
“You really have to sympathise with the Dolphins – at 10-6, Isaiya Katoa executes a 40/20, yet the touch judge misses it,” Michael Ennis remarked on Fox Sports.
“Then they concede downfield with Staggs able to score from dummy-half, crushing their hopes and extending the lead.”
Catch the 2025 NRL premiership live and free on Nine and 9Now.
Kristian Woolf, the Dolphins coach, was questioned about the incident during the post-match media conference, where a reporter described it as a “poor call” and a significant “turning point” in the duel.

The Broncos score after the contentious decision. Nine
“From the box, it’s a bit challenging to assess; truth be told, I didn’t catch it,” he said.
“I understand he took a couple of attempts, but I wasn’t aware of Cobbo’s foot placement. Was it a poor call?” Woolf probed, with the reporter confirming that replays did indeed show the foot on the line.
“Well, those moments can be pivotal, can’t they? It’s a significant incident. We’re on the back foot, and unfortunately, those calls don’t go in your favour.”
The Dolphins now find themselves at 0-4 to start the season and will face the Titans away next Saturday.
Compiled by SportArena.com.au.
Fanpage: SportArena.com.au.
LiveScore – Live Sports Results & Odds.